Faculty Recognized for Outstanding Teaching

Monday, May 18, 2020

Four Penn Arts & Sciences faculty were recognized with University-wide teaching awards in 2020. Mark Devlin, Reese W. Flower Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, and Lisa Mitchell, Associate Professor of South Asia Studies, received the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching—the highest honor for teaching at Penn. Bill Ashmanskas, Senior Lecturer in Physics, was recognized with a Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty, and Annette Lareau, Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Endowed Term Professor in the Social Sciences, received a Provost’s Award for Distinguished Ph.D. Teaching and Mentoring.

Nine additional faculty were honored with teaching awards from Penn Arts & Sciences. Paul Goldin, Professor of East Asian Languages and Civilizations, and Mark Goulian, Charles and William L. Day Distinguished Professor in the Natural Sciences, received the Ira H. Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching.

The Dennis M. DeTurck Award for Innovation in Teaching was given to Philip Gressman, Professor of Mathematics, and the Dean’s Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Research went to Megan Kassabaum, Assistant Professor of Anthropology. Jennifer Ponce de León, Assistant Professor of English, received the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by an Assistant Professor, while the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Affiliated Faculty was presented to Deborah Burnham, Associate Undergraduate Chair of English, and Andria Johnson, Senior Lecturer in History and Sociology of Science.

In the College of Liberal & Professional Studies, Philip Gehrman, Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology, received the Award for Distinguished Teaching in Undergraduate and Post-Baccalaureate Programs, and Dana Kaminstein, Lecturer in Organizational Dynamics, was recognized with the Award for Distinguished Teaching in Professional Graduate Programs.