Faculty Honors

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Recent recognitions and awards for our faculty include:


David Wallace, Judith Rodin Professor of English, received The Sir Israel Gollancz Prize from the British Academy for his lifetime contribution into the study of Chaucer and Medieval Europe.

Abraham Nitzan, Donner Professor of Physical Sciences, has won the 2020 American Chemical Society (ACS) National Award in Theoretical Chemistry for his research on chemical dynamics. Daniel Mindiola, Brush Family Professsor of Chemistry, received the ACS’s F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry for his research on the synthesis of early- and mid-transition metal complexes.

Michael Hanchard, Professor and Chair of Africana Studies, was awarded the 2019 Ralph J. Bunche Award from the American Political Science Association for his book, The Spectre of Race: How Discrimination Haunts Western Democracy.

Liang Wu, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has received the 2019 William L. McMillan Award from the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois for his outstanding contributions in condensed matter physics.

Angela Duckworth, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology, and Marci Hamilton, Robert A. Fox Leadership Program Professor of Practice, were recently selected as 2019 Daughters of Pennsylvania. Distinguished Daughters honors women whose professional and philanthropic work has earned regional, statewide, or national recognition and provides value to the public.