New Faculty at Penn Arts & Sciences

Monday, November 21, 2016

Andrea Mitchell University Professor Beth Simmons; George A. Weiss and Lydia Bravo Weiss University Professor Aviv Nevo; Presidential Distinguished Professor Nicholas Sambanis

Penn Arts and Sciences welcomed 26 new members in 17 departments to its standing faculty for the 2016-2017 academic year. The group includes the 17th and 18th Penn Integrates Knowledge University Professors, Aviv Nevo and Beth Simmons, and a Presidential Distinguished Professor, Nicholas Sambanis. 

A pioneer in the use of empirical data to analyze consumer behavior, Nevo is a George A. Weiss and Lydia Bravo Weiss University Professor, with appointments in the Department of Economics in Arts and Sciences and the Department of Marketing in Wharton. Simmons, a world-renowned authority on international relations and human rights, is an Andrea Mitchell University Professor, with joint faculty appointments in the Law School and the Department of Political Science in Penn Arts and Sciences. Sambanis, also in political science, is among the world’s leading scholars of violent civil wars, secessionist conflicts, and strategies for conflict resolution and peace-building.

Other new senior faculty include Christopher Atwood, Professor of East Asian Languages and Civilizations; Michael Jones-Correa, Visiting Professor of Political Science; and Kathleen Morrison, Sally and Alvin V. Shoemaker Professor of Anthropology.