Faculty Honors

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

David Christianson, Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology, and Beth Linker, Associate Professor of History and Sociology of Science, received the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching—the highest teaching honor at the University. The Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty was given to Lorene Cary, Senior Lecturer in English, while Madeleine Joullié, Professor of Chemistry, received the Provost’s Award for Distinguished Ph.D. Teaching and Mentoring. 

Nine additional faculty were honored with teaching awards from Penn Arts and Sciences. Marie Gottschalk, Professor of Political Science, and Evelyn Thomson, Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy, were honored with the Ira H. Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching. 

The Dean’s Award for Innovation in Teaching was given to David Kim, Assistant Professor of History of Art, and the Dean’s Award for Mentorship of Undergraduate Research went to Herman Beavers, Professor of English and Africana Studies. Cullen Blake, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, received the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by an Assistant Professor, while the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching by Affiliated Faculty was presented to Julia Bloch, Director of the Creative Writing Program in English, and Oscar Montoya, Instructor of Hispanic Studies in Romance Languages.

In the College of Liberal and Professional Studies, Judith McLean, Lecturer in Biological Basis of Behavior, received the Award for Distinguished Teaching in Undergraduate and Post-Baccalaureate Programs, and James Pawelski, Director of Education and Senior Scholar in the Positive Psychology Center, Master of Applied Positive Psychology Program, was given the Award for Distinguished Teaching in Professional Graduate Programs.

Sarah Tishkoff, David and Lyn Silfen University Professor of Biology and Genetics, and Robert Seyfarth, Professor of Psychology, were elected members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Samuel Freeman, Avalon Professor in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy and Law, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Robert Aronowitz, Professor and Chair, History and Sociology of Science; Rita Copeland, Sheli Z. and Burton X. Rosenberg Professor, Classical Studies; Daniel J. Mindiola, Presidential Professor of Chemistry; and Daniel K. Richter, Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professor of American History, were awarded John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowships.

Diana Mutz, Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Political Science and Communication, was selected to receive a 2017 Andrew Carnegie Fellowship from the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Barbara D. Savage, Geraldine R. Segal Professor of American Social Thought and Chair of the Department of Africana Studies, was chosen as the Harmsworth Visiting Professor of American History at the University of Oxford for the 2018-19 academic year.

Dorothy Roberts, George A. Weiss University Professor of Law and Sociology, Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Professor of Civil Rights, and Professor of Africana Studies, won Columbia University’s Mamie Phipps Clark and Kenneth B. Clark Distinguished Lecture Award.

Brendan O’Leary, Lauder Professor of Political Science, was elected an honorary member by the Royal Irish Academy. O’Leary was also given the Distinguished Scholar Award of the International Studies Association's Ethnicity, Nationalism, and Migration Studies, along with his regular co-author John McGarry. 

John MacDonald, Professor of Criminology and Sociology and Penny and Robert A. Fox Faculty Director of the Fels Institute of Government, was elected a fellow of the Academy of Experimental Criminology.

Robert DeRubeis, Samuel H. Preston Term Professor in the Social Sciences and Professor of Psychology, is a recipient of the 2017 James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award, a lifetime achievement award from the Association for Psychological Science.

Nancy Hirschmann, Professor of Political Science and Director of the Program on Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies and the Alice Paul Center for Research on Gender, Sexuality, and Women, received a 2017 American Council of Learned Societies Fellowship. She was also named a fellow by the National Humanities Center, and a Fernand Braudel Senior Fellow by the European University Institute.