Churchill, Marshall, and Thouron Scholars Selected

Awards support studies in the United Kingdom.

Monday, May 22, 2023

Physics major Sarah Kane, C’23, visual studies major Amy Krimm, C’23, and alum Carson Eckhard, C’21, who graduated with honors in history and English, have been named 2023 Marshall Scholars. Established by the British government, the Marshall Scholarship supports up to three years of graduate study for American students in any field at an institution in the United Kingdom. Kane, Krimm, and Eckhard are among just 40 Marshall Scholars for 2023, representing 32 U.S. institutions.

Mathematics major Ryan Jeong, C’23, and biophysics, biology, and philosophy major Arnav Lal, C’23, are among 16 students nationwide who have been selected to receive a Churchill Scholarship—considered one of the most prestigious and competitive international fellowships for American students planning graduate study in the United Kingdom—for a year of research at the University of Cambridge. Jeong and Lal will receive full funding for a one-year master’s program at Churchill College at Cambridge.

Alisa Ghura, C’23; Shivani Nellore, C’23, W’23; Winston Peloso, C’23, G’25; Gabriella Rabito, C’23; Srinidhi Ramakrishna, C’22; Thomas Russell, C’23; Oliver Stern, C’23; and Elena Tisnovsky, C’23, have each received a 2023 Thouron Award to pursue graduate studies in the United Kingdom. Thouron Scholars receive tuition for up to two years, as well as travel and living stipends. Established in 1960 and supported with gifts from the late John Thouron and his wife, Esther du Pont Thouron, the Thouron Award is a graduate exchange program between Penn and U.K. universities that aims to bolster relationships between the countries.