Faculty Honors

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Penn Arts & Sciences faculty continued to distinguish themselves through their research and teaching, and their work has been recognized with notable honors and awards. Here are just a few.

Douglas Durian, Mary Amanda Wood Professor of Physics, and I. Joseph Kroll, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, were named American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows, recognized by the organization for their “scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.” The AAAS is the world’s largest scientific society.

Dorothy Roberts, George A. Weiss Professor of Law and Sociology, Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Professor of Civil Rights, and professor of Africana Studies; and Nicholas Sambanis, Presidential Distinguished Professor of Political Science, were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Members are chosen for their “accomplishments and leadership in academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research.” Roberts, along with Sarah Tishkoff, David and Lyn Silfen University Professor of Genetics and Biology, was also selected by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM) to serve on the Committee on Use of Race, Ethnicity, and Ancestry as Population Descriptors in Genomics Research.

Mia Bay, Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professor of American History, won this year’s Bancroft Prize for her book, Traveling Black: A Story of Race and Resistance. The prize is considered one of the most prestigious honors in the field of American history. Traveling Black also received a Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) Award in North American History from the Association of American Publishers, which recognizes landmark works.

Three Penn Arts & Sciences faculty were awarded prestigious Guggenheim Fellowships based on their achievements and exceptional promise. Kimberly Bowes, Professor and Undergraduate Chair of Classical Studies; Guthrie Ramsey, Professor Emeritus of Music; and Paul Saint-Amour, Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Humanities and Chair of the Department of English were among 180 fellows chosen from nearly 2,500 applicants.