Faculty Honors

Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Faculty across Penn Arts & Sciences have continued to distinguish themselves through their research and teaching, and their work has been recognized with notable honors and awards. Here are a few of the most recent.

In the natural sciences, Sarah A. Tishkoff, David and Lynn Silfen University Professor in the Department of Biology in Penn Arts & Sciences and the Department of Genetics in Perelman School of Medicine, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors in health and medicine. Joseph Francisco, President’s Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science, was elected a member of both the American Philosophical Society, an organization that honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields, and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, for his outstanding scientific achievements. Yun Ding, Assistant Professor of Biology, was selected as a Kinship Foundation Searle Scholar, an honor given to exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry. Martha Farah, Walter H. Annenberg Professor in the Natural Sciences in the Department of Psychology, was awarded the 2021 Howard Crosby Warren Medal by the Society of Experimental Psychologists for her foundational work in cognitive neuroscience.

Two humanities faculty received book awards. David Eng, Richard L. Fisher Professor in English, earned the Society for Psychological Anthropology Boyer Prize for Racial Melancholia, Racial Dissociation: On the Social and Psychic Lives of Asian Americans, coauthored with Shinhee Han of The New School. Amy Offner, Associate Professor of History, received the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics 2021 Alice Amsden Award for Sorting Out the Mixed Economy: The Rise and Fall of Welfare and Developmental States in the Americas. Also in the humanities, Julie Davis, Professor of History of Art, was named a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellow, an award for individuals who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or creative ability in the arts.

In the social sciences, two political science faculty received notable honors. Diana Mutz, Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Political Science and Communication, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of her distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Michael Horowitz, Richard Perry Professor of Political Science and Director of Perry World House, was appointed a senior fellow for defense technology and innovation in the Council on Foreign Relations David Rockefeller Studies Program. And Deborah Thomas, R. Jean Brownlee Professor of Anthropology and Director of the Center for Experimental Ethnography, received the American Anthropological Association 2020 Gender Equity Award, which recognizes individuals who investigate practices in anthropology that are potentially sexist and discriminatory.