Faculty Book Honors

Fall/Winter 2023

These members of our faculty were honored for their books:

Jared Farmer, Walter H. Annenberg Professor of History, received the American Philosophical Society 2023 Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History for his book, Elderflora: A Modern History of Ancient Trees. 

Dorothy Roberts, George A. Weiss University Professor of Law and Sociology, received an Honorable Mention for Distinguished Scholarly Book from the American Sociological Association for her book, Torn Apart: How the Child Welfare System Destroys Black Families—and How Abolition Can Build a Safer World. 

Grace Sanders Johnson, Associate Professor of Africana Studies, won the 2023 Haitian Studies Association Book Prize for White Gloves, Black Nation: Women, Citizenship, and Political Wayfaring in Haiti.

For his book Wild Experiment, Donovan Schaefer, Associate Professor of Religious Studies, won the 2023 Ludwik Fleck Prize from the Society for the Social Studies of Science and an award from the International Society for Science and Religion.